India beat South Africa to become world champions

Published On: June 30, 2024 08:10 AM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 30: Undefeated India emerged as the champions of the ICC T-20 World Cup Cricket 2024 after a thrilling victory over South Africa by 7 runs.

This win marks India's second Twenty20 World Cup title, with their first victory occurring 17 years ago in 2007.

Chasing a target of 177 runs set by India at the Kingston Oval in Barbados, South Africa fell short, managing to score only 169 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Thus, India clinched the title, while South Africa, appearing in their first final, was denied the championship.

Heinrich Klaasen was the top scorer for South Africa with a brisk 52 off 27 balls, including 2 fours and 5 sixes. Quinton de Kock contributed 39 runs off 31 balls, hitting 4 fours and 1 six. Tristan Stubbs added 31 runs off 21 balls, and David Miller scored 21 runs off 17 balls.

India's bowling attack was led by Jasprit Bumrah, who took 2 wickets for 18 runs in his 4 overs. Hardik Pandya impressed with 3 wickets for 20 runs in 3 overs, while Arshdeep Singh and Axar Patel took 2 and 1 wickets, respectively.

Earlier, after winning the toss, India opted to bat first and scored a total of 176 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in their 20 overs.

Opener Virat Kohli was the standout performer for India, scoring 76 runs off 59 balls, including 2 sixes and 4 fours. Kohli, who had struggled in previous matches, returned to form in the final.

However, captain Rohit Sharma failed to make an impact, scoring only 9 runs off 5 balls, including 2 fours. Rishabh Pant was dismissed for a duck, and Suryakumar Yadav managed only 3 runs.

Axar Patel played a crucial inning, scoring 47 runs, while Shivam Dube added 27 runs. Hardik Pandya remained unbeaten on 5 runs, and Ravindra Jadeja scored just 2 runs.

For South Africa, Keshav Maharaj and Anrich Nortje each took 2 wickets, while Marco Jansen and Kagiso Rabada claimed 1 wicket each.

In the semi-finals, South Africa defeated Afghanistan by 9 wickets, and India secured their place in the final with a dominant 68-run victory over England.

Leave A Comment