Women’s Asia Cup 2024: Nepal vs UAE and India vs Pakistan on July 19 (Full Schedule)

Published On: June 27, 2024 04:59 PM NPT By: Republica  | @RepublicaNepal

KATHMANDU, June 27: The ninth edition of the Women’s Asia Cup cricket tournament will take place in Sri Lanka, starting on July 19 and concluding with the final on July 28.

In the opening group stage matches on July 19, Nepal will face the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and India will play against their arch-rivals Pakistan in the Women’s Asia Cup T20 2024.

This year’s tournament, the ninth in its history, will feature eight teams, an increase from the previous edition in 2022. The teams are divided into two groups.

Defending champions and seven-time winners, India, are placed in Group A alongside Pakistan, the UAE, and Nepal. Group B includes Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Thailand, and Malaysia.

The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals, scheduled for July 26.

The inaugural Women’s Asia Cup was held in 2004 in Sri Lanka, with the first four editions played in the One Day International (ODI) format. India has competed in all eight finals, securing seven victories and losing one to Bangladesh in 2018.

Sri Lanka has finished as runners-up five times, while Pakistan has reached the final twice.

In the last edition held in Bangladesh, India defeated Sri Lanka by restricting them to 65/9 in the final, winning the match with nine wickets to spare. India’s Jemimah Rodrigues was the tournament's highest run scorer.

Women’s Asia Cup T20 2024 Teams

Group A: India, Pakistan, Nepal, UAE

Group B: Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Malaysia, Thailand


Leave A Comment